top of page
  • gracicorn2

Biophilia And Why I'm Obsessed

So I don't know about you, but I've had an odd fascination with bohemian style recently. I think it's the plants. The elongated hanging plants seem absolutely magical. When asked to talk about trends, I was admittedly a deer in the headlights. After referencing an Elle Decor article, I discovered this magical word called biophilia and no, it isn't a disease. According to the ever helpful Wikipedia article, biophilia is essentially the innate tendency to seek connections with nature. Now what does that mean in regards to interior design? Well what I got from that was incorporating nature into designs. Tying this back to that bohemian thing, this is nothing new. I mean way back when we were literally neanderthals, nature was our house. And then the hippies came and were like "Plants are cool, lets put them everywhere for good vibes". And we all have that grandmother that has the sun porch filled with with flowers year round. This trend seems to coming back once again. I think we can expect a bunch of plants incorporated in the up and coming contemporary designs.

If you would like to read the Elle Decor article or the Wikipedia page, here are the links-

https://www.elledecor.com/design-decorate/trends/g23550602/design-trends-2019/?slide=3

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Biophilia_hypothesis

Thank you so much for reading my masterpiece and I hope you have learned to freak out your friends by using the word biophilia.

P.S. Ima add some lit pictures of plant stuff :)


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page